Training Gold Ribbon

It’s been pretty windy and already the wind has knocked over one of the plants (the purple showing girl on the left) so I decided to support them with some tomatoe cages.

The bright green girl on the right is a lot more flexible and has less woody/stalky branches. The purple lady has had a lot more training, bending and snapping mostly, to develop her canopy more. One of the branches was snapped a long time ago and was dangling by a few strands until I taped it up with some regular office tape. Setting up the cages I split the stalk down the middle, I never really want to split the stalk since bending can provide the same results without any damage, but no matter, the office tape is to the rescue again to help mend the damage.

I like the overal structure on both of these girls, I want a little more stretch from both but that is sure to happen outdoors. Once the seeds drop from these ladies and I have some plants to work with from those seeds I will show my training methods, it’s mostly mainlining with a little bit of bonsai(growing in a smaller container to stimulate stress) then as the summer ends and the plants start to flower I can show a side by side comparison of the F1 progeny grown alongside their revegged mothers. I haven’t determined which regimen to put this strain on since I am working with a few variables that are less than ideal but all the more fun and challenging.

  • Ultimately unknown genetics
  • Sister-Mothers
  • Reveg
  • Stored(frozen) pollen

Having unknown genetics is not so much of a worry for me. I can see that both of these mothers are indica dominant with a fair amount of sativa phenotypes, mostly in their fan leaves and more so with the light green girl on the right.

With unknown genetics, and ultimately deciding which regimen to put any specific genetic on all comes down to the same few questions.

  1. Growing for yourself or others
  2. Stimulate vs Expressing traits
  3. Environment (Indoor or Outdoor)

In my opinion growing for others should be done with the least amount of training/stress. That involves the least amount of risk and the most consistency from plant to plant. I am starting to see more grows that support no tops or very few toppings that pull the same weight as SCROG or other high risk/high yield systems, although genetics play the biggest role in that when everything is grown with the same medium just different techniques. Some plants don’t need the stress to give high yields.

Stimulating a plant is different than letting the plant express its traits naturally, of course growing indoors the grower has to decide the degree of contact allowed with the plant and where it crosses a line beteween necessity and desire. I’ll touch on it for a moment with a lesson I learned in topping.

Some genetics should be topped and yield/grow much more when they have some degree of stress. In most grows, indoor and outdoor, there won’t be natural topping i.e. Animals eating the tops or wind snapping branches. Although in my garden today the wind could have snapped one of my branches but that was because I did not support my plants early enough.

Indoors and outdoors where the stress is controlled by the grower pruning, bending, topping and other techniques can all be considered natural techniques, and they are. However, when and how those stress responses are triggered can be controlled to a degree by the grower. It is here where I pose the question of Stimulating vs Expressing. Where stimulating is controled responses to stress and Expressing is more hands off.

Leave a Reply

