Make love not war; unless it’s the Clone Wars!

It is time! Really it’s long over due for most of what’s growing in my garden, but it is time to flower! This of course means very soon now my plants will start to show more and begin their process of developing bud! This will be my first full indoor flowering and actually most plants have been grown both indoors and outdoors so really I have yet to do a full closed indoor grow. Due to my inexperience growing during the winter I abandoned a multi cycle system and decided to entirely veg out all my plants, I just could not keep the temperatures to support flower development and have since been loosing a plant here and there due to the cold.

Due to the reduced size of my garden I now have more space to take clones! It’s been several months since successfully rooting cuttings so I took some of the thin scraggly branches that were growing further down some of my plants. After 9 days the first cutting has started to show roots, about 2-3cm of root growth from checking on night 8 then noon on day 9. Day 10 another clone has shown roots as well so I’m expecting that by 14-20 days every cutting will have roots started. Perfect timing that I have some new seeds started as well so I will have a nice collection of varied strains this year. The clones are of my own genetics as are two seeds that have been crossed with ‘Onyx Auto’ during a 2016 open pollination project. The other two seeds are Khalifa Kush which I will be training for clones should there be a female among them. 

I find it exciting to grow with clones and seeds, this will be the first time growing both out side by side. It will be great if one of the seeds shows to be male, I really like breeding and since this will be a small grow with varied genetics, should one male show through I could get some very vigourous offspring. There are a lot of possibilities should a seed become male, especially the seeds from the 2016 open pollination run. 

  • Khalifa Kush – seed
  • 2016 open pollination – seed
  • Gold Ribbon – clone
  • Pink Ribbon – clone

Should a 2016 seed be male I would pollinate the Pink/Gold clones to develop a further back cross of my own genetics since they are from the same pollination project.

If Khalifa Kush shows to be male I’m debating on further crossing it with the other KK should that be female, to develop a further pure strain. This would give me a lot more to work with from name genetics since there would be plenty of seeds made. However I think it would be most beneficial if I were able to save the KK male for a later run of more name genetics. Certainly working Khalifa Kush into my own genetics would be nice as far as knowing what is what.

  • KK • Gold Novelthc open 16
  • KK • Pink Novelthc open 16
  • KK • Onyx Auto • Novelthc open 16
  • KK • KK – 2017 ‘pure breed’

I categorize each strain individually and each plant/cutting by how Indica, Ruderallis, Sativa the structure is. Flower/Bouquet is a more complex breeding process personally speaking and so I am focusing on what can be the majority of the plants life(veg), especially how I grow with reveg cycles. Allowing for each phenotype to have contenders for an F1 pick is far better than simply taking a cutting and deciding it as your F1. Veg, Flower and the development of the plant can be governed by the grower and so naming conventions and growing processes should be at the discretion of the grower as well.

Were I given a cannabis cup strain, I would still grow it out expecting the plant to grow like it’s other genetic counterparts just as everyone else. Selecting for a Mother or F1 is a lot more tricky than growing how the rest of the community grows. My definition of Indica is different than yours, we can agree indica plants are just that, but how each grower wants their Indica to grow varies from garden to garden and certainly strain to strain. Once the discussion moves from scientific classification to personal breeding practices the discussion becomes more like a game of ’52 card pickup’, there is no specific order on how to accomplish certain breeding goals, as with picking up a deck of cards.

I try to categorize each plant into various spectrums

  • Indica
  • Ruderallis
  • Sativa

Indica: Non-Equitorial; stout, large fan leaves, clustered nodes

Ruderallis: Runt/Stunted; hash plant, unstable

Sativa: Equitorial; branching, thin fan leaves, spaced internodes

A large net defines the class in which a cannabis plant can fall under. It is from my experience that breeding is not a one for one process and that a ‘Sativa’ does not become ‘Indica’ without expressing the plants traits in a way that they naturally developed.

  • Pollination
  • Training

Training a plant from what I have seen can express traits from another class of cannabis. Indicas can stretch as tall as Sativas, Sativas can grow as stout as Indicas, certainly even in correct conditions the phenotypes of one class can jump into another, all within the same generation. It is my understanding that the traits contained withing cannabis and most living things in my opinion are dependant on need and do not get expressed until the organism requires or can make use of those traits.

Garden competition greatly helps plants grow, even a garden full of the same strains. It is coded in every plant to potentially pass genetics, I am unaware of cannabis being sterile or otherwise not producing male or female organs. Since each plant is capable of passing their genetics and the actual ratio of genetics from mother:father is unknown at this time it can be best assumed that the traits being passed on are to best help that individual plant (seed) grow to later pass on it’s own genetics. Thinking about how and why plants pass their genes on also lends itself to think that genetics are not only selected for the individual plant but also for the environment it will be grown in. Certainly some strains grow better in outdoor conditions and others indoor, I assume this is due to the ancestry and environment those plants have grown in.

Recessive traits will introduce themselves into a plant, and again looking at ‘how and why’ can be of great benefit for the future of each plant and us growers. Punnet squares can be accurate at predicting the phenotypes of future crops but that comes with a certain amount of speculation. It may be possible that plants select genes based on more than just the next progeny and the environment in which they will grow. At what point does a plant become aware of its environment is an interesting subject, plants only need space water and light for them to grow. So at which point does the plant realize that the soil it’s in won’t be getting better and it needs to move it’s roots to find more. Perhaps this is a phenotype that growers are not breeding for because most grow in environments with fresh and new medium each time. How a plant reacts to the environment is as important to the award winning traits most growers expect to find in their plants. Further study on where and how cannabis develops based on lattitude/elevation so that the environment cannabis originated in can be understood. There are a lot of macro and micro views that can suffocate discussions on growing, breeding and everything in between. I try to show some of my perspectives as best I can but ultimately I am still learning from this plant and am happy to speculate and be absolutely wrong.

***Tl;dr***

I won’t summarize what’s above although in later posts I will be expanding upon these subjects further so it is in your best interest that if you want to talk philosophy and potentiality with me, you should read what’s above to start.

Cloning time! I had to get the possibilities of what I am working with laid out in front of me. Variables are always changing and introducing themselves so really all I can do is make notes and be prepared for the next go around. I have the least amount of experience with growing clones, I prefer to grow from seed.

  • Pink Ribbon
  • Gold Ribbon
  • Poultra
  • HD

These are all ready to be cloned and I may hold off a bit more to take some cuttings. Pink Ribbon is my ‘Mother of All’ and has a few cuttings already being cloned. I will explain a little bit about how I categorize each cutting by strain and how I plan for the next several months of the plants life.

Month 1

This is a slow month, really it’s all about the roots and getting the plant into it’s medium. Depending on what is growing I determine how I will train the plants. If there are males to pollinate the clones I prepare for that breeding project, otherwise clones get fully vegged then flowered.

Month 2

First, second, and third training sessions are applied based on genetics and plant growth. As more development shows plants are further classified and ranked in their respective categories to determine further projects.

Month 3

Begin prep for harvest, plants begin flower. Plants rearranged by project

  • Breeders
  • Mothers
  • Harvesters

This allows me to select for very specific plants to grow and breed with. Certainly there are many plants that I wish to breed, mother, and harvest; thanks to cloning this is possible. Space always becomes an issue when cloning or starting seeds since it is very easy to start more than your space provides as each plant grows.

Check back for more on Clones and how I handle my plants! This page will be a longer project as there are lots of clones to take and choose from, a week by week or month to month update will be given for each strain. It was my goal here to establish an open discussion on how to approach cloning. As each hurdle is approached I will give a more strain specific perspective describing what it is I am cloning for, as well as direct it back into a more open discussion of what can be applied to any particular strain.

Phenotypes are not isolated to any one strain, because plants are living growing organisms they change to their environment, how rapid or gradual is a larger bag of worms for this discussion. Right now I am taking clones and will be updating/linking this page once those cuttings have been cut.

Leave a Reply

