Starting new seeds

It’s a month in to 2017 and the grower in me has been eager to pop some new genetics. December 2016 I did a mass germination of the remaing seeds I had, unfortunately due to the holidays I neglected those poor seedlings and they all withered and died. Luckily I had those genetics already germinated a few months prior. Unfortunately that was only a small run per strain so I missed out on finding a true shining star among those strains. This also means I have less plants to work with for breeding projects this year. I’ll be switching over my plants to flower in the next few days so that I can sex them and find the males among them. The winter heavily stunted their growth, some plants didn’t make it but I’ve also been able to find some extremely vigorous females that showed early and have since been vegging for 4-5+ months now.
There are many pros and cons of breeding your own cannabis, as with growing many varietes rather than having a homogeneous garden. I decided on my first grow that if there were males I would try to grow them out just like the females. Approaching cannabis this way has allowed me to quickly breed my own strains in a short amount of time, this would not have been possible if it were not for the wide variety of already good genetics, that just so happened to be bag seed. Some of those seeds I kept for up to three years before germinating all of what I had, some of them I pocketed from that year of ‘easter eggs’ as I like to think of them. I think there are a lot of things that contributed to my first grow year as a success. 

  • Many and varied genetics
  • Varied maturity of seeds
  • Lots of luck

I was absolutely over zealous my first grow around and there were some casualties, (compared to the mass cullings from my first real winter it’s nothing) all in all when April 20th rolled around I had 12 females I was working with. I selected seven males from what I had, I mentioned being over zealous well… I relocated all my plants to this ‘awesome’ spot I had which turned out to be entirely covered in shade by three large trees for almost the entirety of the day. Those plants were left for a few weeks and not a single female was among them, maybe one that I miss counted, it was horrifying. I ran into a lot, A LOT, of breaks my first grow. What saved me from turning all of my plants to males was that I ran out of space for the amount of plants I had and so brought those remaining back to their original home. By another crazy amount of luck, every single one of those plants I brought back was female, again maybe I miss counted by one but that makes for less of a story. Thanks to all of these odds the males that were left shaded for weeks actually strived and the females I had were doing alright. Maybe I happened to seperate them just at the right time and I was eager to put all the big healthy plants, which can sometimes mean they are male, into what I was digging up to be the garden of eden. Or I hermed the females and I was left with that great story above.

Fast forward to now and it’s February 10th! My brother and his roommate the connoisseurs that they are try a good amount of tree, recently they smoked some Khalifa Kush aka ‘KK’ and found a couple easter eggs. Here we have my first seeds for 2017! 

It’s a great feeling to start some new genetics, especially of some tree that I have tried and like. Kush’s are great to smoke and from the variety of tree I have to select locally it’s been a while since I’ve smoked some great kush. Already running in my tent are of course my own genetics, as well as some CA Kush I’m looking forward to running. I expected that these KK’s are males from what I understand on determining the sex of seeds. I’m unsure of how accurate this is and the only way to ever know really what your seed has in store for you is to germinate it and grow with it.

Seeds grow from within the calyx. Once harvested there is a way to identify wether your seeds are male or female. Looking at the bottom of the seed, (bottom being where the seed was connected to the plant) I’ve seen this referenced as a ‘volcano’,whatever you decide to compare it to, a seeds base has a convex or concave form to it. If the base is concave or otherwise has a divet, which makes it look like a volcano, you have a female. If the seeds tapper or are convex odds are those are males.

Certainly I am hoping for females to later harvest and smoke, however from the looks of my tent I have no males showing that I can use to breed for this year so whatever these seeds are they will find a place in my garden.

*The left seed is a potential female. The seed on the right has a significantly smaller divet than the one on the left, although at first glance both look to have no divet at all.

*no flash under t5 lighting

Figure 1

Figure 2

There is nice speckling on each seed, although these are the prettier sides. The reverse of each seed has a gradual dark tan-brown sheen with no speckling.

Fig 1. Left Seed; Ridged slope, many small very dark brown specks, minimal seperation, very thin tesselation,color variation mostly dark with brown cap

Fig 2. Right Seed; Full with no depressions, many large specks, light tesselation, color variation mostly dark with gradual capping

I’m excited for this next years grow! Lots more to come, I’ll do my best to keep this updated frequently thanks for viewing!

Leave a Reply

