‘Pink Ribbon’

A lot about growing requires day to day maintenance and upkeep, the more moving parts a system has ie. pumps, timers, etc., requires more upkeep. I’ve only grown fully in soil, organic and less organic, I always end up tossing a worm or two into my containers and quickly they make work of the untouched medium. It’s been some time since I have used well water although when I was feeding my plants more live/active water they definitely thrived better. I never collected rain water but on my first grow I was bold enough to weather my plants during the day, and would even leave them outside in the late winter/spring rain. 2017 showers have been a lot more intense than 2016 and so I haven’t weathered any of my indoor plants this year, yet. I also don’t have a pH tester which my plants all suffer from, I try to avoid feeding right from the faucet and prefer to leave a reservoir out to settle for a few days before feeding.

Advanced nutrients pH perfect line intrigued me, although since I don’t have a pH tester I can’t make note of the full benefits these nutrients have. Always leaning to the side of caution I have been using each nutrient sparingly, less is more and none at all is best. Of the mother plants I have growing I feed them all seperately now, growing a variety garden requires individual attention for each plant. Each mother are of my own genetics, I’ve been able to breed and find almost pure crosses of each Indica and Sativa for my ‘Mother of All’ Pink Ribbon female. At first I was feeding them all the same regimen of nutrients, I bumped up the ratios for their feeding and only the Sativa showed no signs of nutrient burn. The poor Indica was damaged the worst of all and their mother had suffered some minor tip damage. I didn’t flush the containers since the plants still had a few feedings and were able to keep growing despite the damage. Certainly smaller plants would not have been able to survive my heavy hand but these plants have truly been resilient to whatever I put them through.

The lady here is the ‘Mother of All’ for most genetics in my garden. She’s one of my earlier crosses and breeding projects full of genetics from multiple Indica, Ruderallis, Sativa plants I grew my first year. I do have some autoflower strains that have almost lost their ‘auto-‘ but have kept their early flowering traits. I don’t mind not working with autos anymore although they are great for pumping out muliple breeding projects in a year. Since there were a lot of traits to fight over for when seeds were forming I have noticed that early or autoflowering genetics are less likely to be passed on. Each plant inherently has ‘self-preservation’ traits in order to keep the individual plants genetics. The response some plants have to hermaphrodite may also fall under this view. I like to think that the genes each plant has are complete and are expressed because of the conditions the plant is in, selective breeding may hinder and potentially remove possible traits from a plant but the purpose of each trait is never truely culled from the plant.

By no means do I think a late flowering plant can be trained to flower early or on it’s own without introducing those traits by another specimen, at least not within a single year of growing. I mean that flowering traits are whole and complete as are height, branching, overall structure, taste, smell, and overall bouquet, etc. It’s entirely up to the grower to redefine their plant as I have, but it has been from my experience that breeding out traits to push, for say numerous node development, with a plant that otherwise has no need for the extra nodes creates more Ruderallis plants or simply put weed.

I have a couple plants I’ve grown out that most growers would happily pull right from their containers. It’s in my best interest as a breeder and grower to learn from every plant I come in contact with, especially as a breeder. The run of seeds I hunted through to find my ‘Mother of All’ certainly had a variety of genes to sort from. Selecting the mother was easy, no other plant grew at the rate or structure the way this girl has, she even sexed early and has since been vegging under a low wattage LED. The runners up were more closely grouped for 2nd/3rd than the clear contender (the beautiful hybrid in these videos) for 1st. Of the 2nd/3rd choice seeds from that run, I had some spindley, and extremely weed like plants. I’ve decided to keep a select few growing in hopes that they will some day be enough to work with.

I won’t be doing mass germination runs for a while as I have been so that I can focus on what I have and find the best contenders among them. The ‘Mother of All’ may be clone only, and I might grow it that way for a while. I think it will be some time before I clone and breed that mother in other projects. I would rather grow out those other pink ribbon plants and breed with them to get some potentially unique genetics from each. It will also be good for me to observe more varied specimens of a single strain and the offspring it produces in later runs. My first year breeding, despite being varied bag seed all grew relatively equal to each other. There is a science to how plants compete and push each other to grow that can be observed easily in multi-strain grows.

I wanted to show some of my genetics and this strain I think holds the most of what I wanted from my first year growing. There are so many approaches to genetics, breeding, and flowering that intrigue me. Eventually I will have a more homogeneous garden but for now I find the most satisfaction from interacting with as many varied plants as possible.

Leave a Reply

